Our Life in the Pacific Northwest

Big Four Ice Caves Collapsing

It’s been all over the news the last few days that because of the unseasonably warm weather we’ve had this year Big Four Ice Caves is unstable and is collapsing.

Lead Field Ranger Matthew Riggen said in a news release. “The cave is in a condition that we would normally not see until at least September – large, inviting and collapsing.”

This makes me nervous since I know many curious people have ventured into the caves, myself included. Yes, about 5 years ago my curiosity and my camera lead me into the caves and it wasn’t until 9 days later when a young girl was killed and her mother injured that I realized just how reckless and stupid I had been. If you want to read more about that day click here: BIG FOUR ICE CAVES.

Heed the warnings and let other people know how dangerous the caves are this year. The more people who know the less likely we will have another senseless tragedy,

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment