Our Life in the Pacific Northwest

Edmonds Beach Low Tide

A beach somewhere in Edmonds Washington.

7-17-07

 

 

“Peering into a tide pool is like looking
through a window into another world… “

James Luther Davis

 

edmonds-5.jpg

*I have an updated blog for this beach here. Low tide edmonds beach
I had not been to this beach for a low tide in years ever since my friend brought me and I never could figure out how to get there again. I finally found it using MSN Live Search. It is a little off the beaten path and it is definitely not a public beach. You have to park on the road, walk over train tracks, and climb down a few boulders to access it.

 

 

I had always wanted to go back there for a low tide since that is where I saw some of the largest Sun Starfish I had ever seen. This particular beach is situated next to an abandoned pier, and the sun starfish cover the pilings. Of course you can only see them if the tide is low enough. Unfortunately, the last low tide we had on Monday, the tide was only a minus 1.2, not low enough to actually see these amazing starfish. We did, however, see other incredible see creatures.

 

We saw jellyfish, a few starfish, some incredibly large anemones, mussels and a very hungry heron, waiting for us to leave.

 

edmonds-1.jpg

Fried Egg Jelly Fish

edmonds-15.jpg

All kinds of anemones, all closed up for protection.

(I believe these are Northern Red Anemones which can live for 60 years.)

edmonds-14.jpg

edmonds-10.jpg

edmonds13.jpg

edmonds-12.jpg

This is a piling under the pier covered in mussels and barnacles, if anyone knows what the dripping goop is I would love to know.

edmonds-18.jpg

This was a pole completely covered in mussels and barnacles.

edmonds-8.jpg

Here is the pole from a distance.

edmonds-9.jpg

And finally our hungry Heron just waiting to grab some tasty morsels.

edmonds-2.jpg

 

 


 

 

If anyone would like to know exactly where this beach is use the map below. Click “View larger map” to be able to scroll in and out for more details. The pier is on the map at the top near where it says “Meadowdale”

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Edmonds Beach Low Tide

  1. Michelle McConaghy on said:

    I would love to know where this beach is as it looks perfect for my son to explore. For some reason, I across your website while researching trails to hike tomorrow near Baker Lake.

    Like

  2. Well I know exactly where you are because my best friend lives right up there on that street above you! Small world. We’ll be there for Thanksgiving…

    Like

  3. Lana G! on said:

    Annie!

    Ellen is my sis! We’ll both be at her friends for Thanksgiving – totally small world!

    😉

    Like

  4. You can also access this beach from the park that has a parking lot off of 52nd?
    There’s a lovely trail down to the park and then there’s a safe tunnel under the tracks to the beach. The park is lovely as well.

    Like

  5. I’ll be there again for the lowest tides of the year on either May 5th, 6th, 7th or 8th.

    And again in July on the 2nd and 3rd. It will be a -4!!! I am sure to see those sun starfish on those days. 🙂

    Like

  6. Hi! I am traveling to Seattle/Bellingham area on the 17th with my two girlies, ages 4 and 7. I don’t know how I hit your webpage but I was glad to read about the pier. Is there a chance of low tide this time of year? and do you have other suggestions for our trip? thanks!!!

    Like

  7. courtney on said:

    I’m a kindergarten teacher in search of a beach to take our K class to this June. We usually go to Mukilteo to see the tidepools there but that beach is under construction this year. Could the beach you describe handle 4 schoolbuses? It sounds like Meadowdale Beach, but that one has a 1.25 mile hike to it. Are there tidepools at low tide? Any info you can give me would be appreciated.

    Like

  8. Pingback: Extreme Low Tide. Edmonds Wa. « Our Life in the Pacific Northwest

Leave a Reply

